Walk On By

Sitting in church on Sunday morning
Listening to the message just with my ears
Can’t let the meaning break through to my heart

Walk on by
It’s none of my business.
Walk on by
Don’t wanna get involved.
Walk on by
I’m too busy,
I’m just gonna walk on by.

Getting to know the person next to me.
Breaking down the walls that keep us apart.
That’s too risky, I don’t wanna get hurt.

Walk on by
It’s none of my business.
Walk on by
Don’t wanna get involved.
Walk on by
I’m too busy,
I’m just gonna walk on by.

People I see with no place to go.
Children on their own with no one to care.
My own troubles are enough for me.

Walk on by
It’s none of my business.
Walk on by
Don’t wanna get involved.
Walk on by
I’m too busy,
I’m just gonna walk on by.

Throw away world with throw away lives.
Need the fast and easy way just to survive.
Can’t take the time for things that last.

Walk on by
It’s none of my business.
Walk on by
Don’t wanna get involved.
Walk on by
I’m too busy,
I’m just gonna walk on by.

Building on hatred is this world’s way.
Sorrow follows sorrow in never ending waves.
Pain’s our only future ‘til we learn to forgive.

Walk on by
It’s none of my business.
Walk on by
Don’t wanna get involved.
Walk on by
I’m too busy,
I’m just gonna walk on by.

Patricia Burlison
©2000

Leave a Reply

