Thirsty for Love

Why am I thirsty
When water surrounds me?
Why am I longing
For what’s given to me?

I don’t quite accept it.
I can’t quite believe.
My heart just won’t trust
That His love’s for me.

The brokenness in me
I’ve hidden so long,
It wears on my soul;
It drowns out His song.

I fall on my knees now
Confessing it all;
Expecting His judgment
Now on me to fall.

Instead He runs to me
And kisses my face.
He showers upon me
His abundant grace.

How shall I answer
Such surprising love?
With a life that’s wide open
To the light from above.

Patricia Burlison
©2006

Leave a Reply

