There is Noah

In pain God cried,
“What have I done?
The hearts of man
With evil run.

“The earth is full
Of pain and death –
What I had made
For love and rest.

“I will undo
What I have done.
All that lives
Under the sun

“I regret.
It’s good no more.
I am grieved
…but, there is Noah.

“Noah,
Come and walk with me.
Noah,
Come, I know you see

“My good world
Has gone awry.
With your help
Once more I’ll try.

“All that lives
I’ll sweep away.
Except for you.
For me, you’ll stay.

“Your family, too
I will keep safe
From the storm,
The wind, the wave.

“You will build
A place to hide.
You will build
A place to hide.

“Bring the creatures
Two by two
That they may live
Along with you.

“Rain will come,
Waters will rise,
Floods break forth
From earth and skies,

“Scour the earth
Until it’s clean
While in the ark
You wait for me.”

(Gen 6:5-7:24)

Patricia Burlison
©2008

Leave a Reply

