Prayer for a Tender Heart

Let me feel the coming pain
That tears a home away,
Of the heart that says, “Don’t go,
My answer is not ‘yea’.”

Let me understand the fears
Of losing such a gift;
Let me hold within my spirit
A balm to soothe the rift.

Let not my heart be hard,
Let my speech still gently be
For a sister and my brother
Who another side do see.

For we are still one body,
And You are still our head,
And I must keep my eyes on You
And go where You have led.

You’ve shown me such compassion,
You’ve showered me with love,
Shall I deny to others
These gifts come from above.

Soften me with mercy
To my sister’s cry.
Strengthen me with gentleness
For my brother’s sigh.

For we are still one body,
And You are still our Lord,
And I yield up my pride to see
Our brokenness restored.

Patricia Burlison
©2005

Leave a Reply

