NOT FAIR!

It’s not fair!
I’ve done my best.
Yet this one,
Who failed the test,
Now returned
Has been blessed.
Why should he
Receive this gain?
He’s the cause
Of our shame.
The one who tossed
It all away
Comes back home
And is embraced,
While I who served
And long obeyed
Stand and watch.
I feel betrayed.
My father’s joy is uncontained.
He acts as if
There is no stain.
For my work,
What did I gain?
My faithfulness
Has been in vain.
My father says,
“Rejoice with me!
It is good.
You will see.
All I have
Is in your hands.
Yours to use.
Yours to plan.
This son was lost.
Now he’s found.
Let the hills
Ring with the sound.
My child has been
Returned to me.
I must rejoice.
Can you not see?”

Patricia Burlison
©2004

Leave a Reply

