No Time for Play

Dreams are lost,
Cast away
By the rules
That say, No play!
How can I
Come to see
All that I
Was meant to be?
If I cannot
Build with blocks;
Create a world
With no locks;
Use the colors
Of my choice;
Find the wealth
Of childhood joys;
Spend my time
In make believe
Where I give
And receive;
Play with mud;
Get all wet;
Run and jump;
Sit and rest.

No time now
For these games
Must sit still,
Act the same.
Learning must
Be serious.
Taken straight,
With no fuss.
But my body
Wants to go!
And my mind
Just doesn’t know
What to do
With the facts.
I still need
To learn with acts.

Patricia Burlison
©2004

Leave a Reply

