If I Listen?

Do I know my Shepherd’s voice?
Hear the call of Him who seeks?
Have I tuned my heart to listen
For the timbre of His speech?

Have I allowed the voices
I hear rising from my past,
To intercept His message
That would set me free at last?

Am I open to receive,
From an unexpected source,
The thoughts by which He’d guide me
To maintain me on His course?

Have I learned to distinguish
His assurance in the swirl
Of languages despairing
That surround me in this world?

I know that if I listen
I will come to know His voice.
I know that if I listen
Then with Him I will rejoice.

In the stillness of the night,
In the busyness of day,
I will wait for His answer,
That may come before I pray.

I will listen with my heart.
I will listen with my soul.
I will listen with my mind.
And in Him I’ll be made whole.

Patricia Burlison
©2004

Leave a Reply

