He Waited for Me

From all beginnings,
Down through the ages,
He waited for me.

Setting in motion
The plan for the fallen,
He waited for me.

Prophets proclaimed it!
Singers exclaimed it!
He waited for me.

One among many,
Lost in the crowd,
He waited for me.

Needing and wanting,
Drowning and dying,
He waited for me.

Busy with living,
Hiding from life,
He waited for me.

Confused and denying,
His love refusing,
He waited for me.

He waited in sorrow.
He waited in love.
He waited with mercy.
He waited . . .
. . . long enough.

Patricia Burlison
&copoy;2008

Leave a Reply

