For Closed Doors

For the doors that have closed.
For the dreams that have died.
For the jobs that have failed.
For the tears I have cried,
I say Thank You.

For all that has gone,
For all that has changed,
Is held in Your hand,
You will make it my gain.

For the “No” that I heard
When I thought it was “yes,”
For the curses I heard
When I thought I’d be blessed,
I say Thank You.

Thank You for love
You lavish so free.
Thank You for gifts
I’m too blind to see.

Thank You for all
You’ve made me to be.
Thank You, my God,
For living in me.

Patricia Burlison
©2008

Leave a Reply

