Coming Home

Coming home, I’m so afraid.
I don’t deserve my Father’s grace.
Yet in my heart I always know,
That there’s no better place to go.

I left my home.
I chose to play.
It was my right.
To go my way.
But all I gained
Was hopelessness.
What can I do?
There’s nothing left.

But when I turn, what do I see?
My Father waiting there for me.
I take one step, too late to hide,
And when I look, it’s love I find.

Coming home, I’m so afraid.
I don’t deserve my Father’s grace.
Yet in my heart I always know,
That there’s no better place to go.

I’ve made my choice.
Can’t change the past.
I long for more,
But nothing lasts.
If only there was someone who
Could help me start my life anew.

And when I turn, what do I see?
My Father waiting there for me.
I take one step, too late to hide,
And when I look, it’s love I find.

Coming home, I’m so afraid.
I don’t deserve my Father’s grace.
Yet in my heart I always know,
That there’s no better place to go.

I’ve never known where I belong.
The search for love’s been my life song.
How I want to know a place
Where I’ll know peace and I’ll be safe.

And when I turn, what do I see?
My Father waiting there for me.
I take one step, too late to hide,
And when I look, it’s love I find.

Coming home, I’m so afraid.
I don’t deserve my Father’s grace.
Yet in my heart I always know,
That there’s no better place to go.

Patricia Burlison
©2002

Leave a Reply

