Calm, With a Chance of Surprise

Pain has encompassed
You like a sea,
And the high tossing waves
Are all that you see.
Be still.
I am with you,
With all that you need.

Life’s repeated duties
Are pressing you down,
Wherever you look
You are met with a frown.
Be still.
I am with you.
I’m making your crown.

Death has surprised you.
It’s taken a friend,
And the strong winds of grief
Have caused you to bend.
Be still.
I am with you.
My love never ends.

Security’s been shaken,
With storms you’re assailed,
And far from your shores
You find you have sailed.
Be still.
I am with you.
On the cross I was nailed.

What calm can abide
Where life’s tempests will blow?
The stillness you find
When My peace you know.
Be still.
I am with you.
My grace, I will show.

Patricia Burlison
©2005

Leave a Reply

