When God Became a Child

Did he
Scrape his knees,
Stub his toes,
Have dirty nails,
A runny nose?
Just like you,
Just like me,
When God became a child?

Did he
Clap for joy,
Run full speed,
Watch an ant,
Plant a seed?
Just like you,
Just like me,
When God became a child?

Did he cling to Mom,
Follow Dad,
Love them both
With all he had?
Just like you,
Just like me,
When God became a child?

Did he
Hold his breath,
Count to ten,
Giggle a bit,
Enjoy a spin?
Just like you,
Just like me,
When God became a child?

Did he
Spread his arms
With the wind,
Watch the trees
Sway and bend?
Just like you,
Just like me,
When God became a child?

Did he
Say his prayers,
Cuddle up tight,
Watch the stars,
Want a kiss goodnight?
Just like you,
Just like me,
When God became a child?

Did he
Play in mud,
Walk in the rain,
Feel the cold,
Have a pain?
Just like you,
Just like me,
When God became a child?

Did he
Raise his hands,
Ask to be held,
Rest secure
Trusting all was well?
Just like you,
Just like me,
When God became a child?

He was a little boy.
He was God’s great joy.
He gave up majesty.
Became like you and me.
It’s unbelievable.
It’s unexplainable.
That God became a child.
God became a child?
Yes, God became a child.

 

Patricia Burlison
©2003

Leave a Reply

