Joseph’s Child

I look upon this child
And wonder at the way
God moved in my life
And brought me to this day.

How God spoke within a dream
When plans had turned to ash,
How He told me not to fear,
He’d given me this task.

This child that Mary bore
Would be mine to raise,
Though he’d bear another name
That all the world would praise.

And now I hold this babe,
This tiny life; my son,
Still no less amazed
That I should be the one

Entrusted with the care
Of one who’d come to be
Messiah, come to save,
To set his people free.

I hope in all I do
I’ll listen to His voice;
Be the father that he needs;
Be worthy of His choice.

 

Patricia Burlison
©2006

Leave a Reply

