I Am the One

In a world where nothing seems secure;
In a world where nothing’s truly pure;
Plans are made and dreams are torn
And nothing stands for long;
Is there nowhere, nothing, no one,
That is safe and strong?

Come and find Me,
Come and try Me –
So much more
Than everything you’ve known.
Here beside you,
Here inside you,
This is where
I long to make My home.

In a world where dark and light
Seem oftentimes confused;
In a world where someone’s promise
Leaves you feeling used;
Is there nowhere, nothing, no one,
Who will show you truth?

Come and find Me,
Come and try Me –
So much more
Than everything you’ve known.
Here beside you,
Here inside you,
This is where
I long to make My home.

I am the One who carved the seas,
Who set the stars to shine.
I am the One who bears all things,
You have no need to hide.
I am the One who will restore you,
I will make you Mine.

Patricia Burlison
©2012

Leave a Reply

