The Father’s Kiss

I thought I was alone
Though others were around
I thought all hope was gone
That in my sin I’d drown
I thought there was no love
That I had lost in all

Then He kissed me
And He blessed me
And He loved me

I thought I didn’t care
That what I’d done was done
I thought I’d never share
Myself with anyone
I thought I didn’t dare
Step out into the sun

I didn’t know…

His love could reach to me
I didn’t know
His love could cover me
I didn’t know
That all I could do was…

Nothing…

Just receive…

When He kisses me
When He blesses me
When He loves me

Patricia Burlison
©2010

This was written as a reflection on a story in today’s Easter message.

Leave a Reply

