Why Didn’t You Tell Me?

Why didn’t you tell me
It was more than a prayer?
Why didn’t you tell me
There was much more to share?

Salvation secured
I went my own way
Little knowing the questions
He’d ask me one day.

“Tell me the work that
you did in My name.
Tell me how you lived in
a world filled with pain.
How many hungry
ones did you feed?
Where are the captives
that you have set free?
How did you show
your love for another?
Where are the enemies
you loved as a brother?
Tell me, my child,
how did you live?
Tell me how much of
your life did you give?”

Patricia Burlison
©2009

Leave a Reply

